This is a new line of jokes, right?

No matter how many times I have tried to unsubscribe to The Daily Beast (a liberal online “news” outlet) I still find their emails in my inbox. The smart thing would be to delete them without reading them, but, then, what’s the fun in that? These stories are my new guilty little pleasure. They’re right up there with the occasional trashy novel that I will swear to everyone I have never read.

This morning I open up the Daily Beast email to see their article on Chris Rock’s Oscar monologue from last night only to see it dubbed OscarSoWhite. I have to know. Is this a real thing? Because the first thing that pops into my (slightly deranged) head are those stupid jokes from when I was about ten. You know the ones: “Yo mama so fat… I took a picture of her last Christmas and it’s still printing.”

“The Oscars so white…the two whole people who watched it were granted special privileges.” The rest of us were subjected to micro aggressions by angry hash-tags (those number sign things are pointy).

The Oscars owe me a micro apology

Leave a comment